Wine Bar Update: 9-23-2013

“Accentuate the positive, eliminate the negative, hang onto the affirmative, and don’t mess with Mr. in between.”  I saw this post on a friend’s Facebook page today.  I had been struggling with how to approach today’s wine bar update but when I read this post, I decided to accentuate the positive.

There’s not been much going on with the wine bar.  I am pulling documents together for the attorney to close on the loan – yeah, I know, BORING!  But I still wanted to stick to my promise and publish an update.

Knowing that the loan has been approved, I decided it was time to get serious about wine, after all, this is a wine bar.  I have met with a couple of different distributors to discuss our wine menu and start sampling wines.  As much as I love sampling new wines, this can actually be very daunting.  I know if a wine isn’t great or doesn’t sell that I can order more every day of the week, but I don’t want to waste money on inventory that doesn’t turn over (quickly) and I don’t want to start out by giving a bad impression.

I will be tasting all the wines before I buy, but to find a starting point, I decided to go online to all my favorite restaurants and pull their wine lists.  I am in the process of comparing these lists to see which wines have made more than one list.  Even though the distributors are making suggestions, I will specifically request wines from my discovery.

The next item I have shopped for is the back bar.  Basically what I needed was to find a design that fits the look and feel of the rest of the bar.  Well I’ve found that at a restaurant supplier called Andy Thornton.

ATFUVF352b

This great vintage look will be perfect.  I will get two of them and have one over each wine refrigerator that sits along the back bar.  This is actually going to save money over the contractor’s quote for building the back bar from scratch.  The shelf is  too tall as it is so we will remove the top row of cubbies and flip them upside down.  This will create a row of open cubbies that will then be attached to the bathroom wall by the vanities to hold paper towels and soap so that the vintage look is carried all the way through.

On a side note (still positive):  This process of starting the bar has caused helped me lose weight.  My pants now come off without having to unbutton them.  It’s really not a sexy look!  I will definitely have to do some shopping before the bar opens.

Our Facebook following has increased by more than 20% over the last week.  Join us on Facebook to be invited to a special Grand Opening and to know about all our events and dinners.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cliff
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 18:26:45

    Looking forward to paying a visit on a trip to SC once you open.

    Cliff

    Reply

  2. divasbabysis
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 19:43:43

    DON’T HAVE MY BAGS PACKED YET, BUT LOOK FOR ME IN THE NEAR FUTURE…DON’T ASK HOW NEAR THAT IS!!! BABY STEPS….SOMETIMES SMALLER THAN YOU WANT BUT IT IS PROGRESS!!!

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 20:14:43

      Welcome back, “divasbabysis”. It has been a while since we have heard from you!

      That’s how I feel about the wine bar – baby steps. And remember, I only “accentuated” the positive. It has actually been a frustrating week.

      You are welcome any time. We close on the new house in 10 days.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
