Possession: It’s Mine!!! #MWWC3

There are several definitions of the word “possession” in the dictionary.   Two that fit this post are: (1) Anything that is owned or possessed and (2) The physical control or occupancy of property whether or not accompanied by ownership.

The topic of possession as it relates to wine is the theme of this month’s “Monthly Wine Writing Challenge” as selected by last month’s challenge winner, Sally of “My Custard Pie.”  You can find all the guidelines by going to Sally’s blog.   This monthly challenge is the brainchild of Jeff, commonly known as the “Drunken Cyclist.”  It is open to anyone who wants to write about the selected topic and participate.

wine-stain1-2

So here’s my story – the reason I am so possessive with my wine:

Several years ago, my husband threw me a surprise birthday party.  One couple that came to the party had led a fairly glamorous lifestyle traveling all over the world with her job.  During these travels, they bought wine from all over the world as well.  When they moved to Winston Salem, they built an amazing wine cellar in their basement.  Hubby and I had been fortunate enough to share wine with our friends from their collection.

For my birthday, these friends brought me a bottle of wine from their private collection.  I was thrilled!  As the alcohol was already flowing and there were way too many people at the house to be able to appreciate this wine, I sat it off to the side to save.  Please don’t take this wrong.  I love sharing my wine with friends.  I just wanted the time to be right for the experience.

The night progressed and some guests had a little too much to drink.  I was outside chatting with a group of people when someone came stumbling out the door with a glass of wine.  The glass was so full it was literally spilling over the top – no room to swirl, sniff, appreciate.  His comment was, “This is some good shit!”  I asked what he was drinking and he responded that he didn’t know what it was, that he had opened a bottle that was sitting on the cabinet.  He had opened MY wine – it was mine!!!  By the time I got into the house, the bottle was empty.  I didn’t get any!  To this day he has no idea that I was so disappointed he had opened my wine.

The next day as I was cleaning up from the party, I decided the I needed to be a little more protective with my wine.  Even though we had a wine fridge, I opted to move all the “special” wines into a closet for safekeeping until I was ready to open and share them.  (No, I don’t have a wine cellar so a dark closet was the next best option.)  So we bought a wine rack for the closet in the spare bedroom.

My wines are now very organized.  My review wines are marked as such and grouped together.  Wines that I am holding onto until a specific year are labeled and grouped by year.  The wine fridge was always stocked (this was in the house we have just sold) and the excess was stored in the closet but readily available for drinking.  And no, I did not let anyone go the closet alone to get wine; however, I would let friends come into the closet to help select the wine for the evening.

I still believe in sharing my wine with friends, but I also like having a little more control over what is opened and when.  After all, it’s mine!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. talkavino
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 12:06:43

    very good interpretation of the theme. And I’m completely with you – yes, the wine should be shared – but I will decide on when, why and with whom.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 19, 2013 @ 12:55:39

      Exactly – I would never come into your home and open a bottle of wine without your knowledge and approval.

      Reply

      • talkavino
        Sep 19, 2013 @ 12:59:06

        Yeah… But same as you, I was in the situations when I was not thoughtful enough to take the bottle away, just put it aside, and someone from the guests would just open it without even asking… I never lost anything spectacular ( like I’m assuming your bottle was), but I’m not a happy camper when that happens…

  2. Krystal
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 14:56:14

    I agree completely! On my wedding day, someone opened and drank a very special bottle of champagne we received as a wedding gift! It was actually a magnum of some fairly expensive bubbly sitting out with the gifts. Everyone was drinking and fairly tipsy, so I suppose it’s understandable, but I still think it was kinda rude. To this day we have no idea who it was, but the bottle was emptied and we never got to taste it! Besides, it was warm:-/

    Reply

  3. Duff's Wines
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 17:23:50

    I know your pain and the awkwardness that comes with. Wine is to be shared but like those above I’ll decide when and with whom. I lost, maybe lost is the wrong word, but missed an opportunity to enjoy the splurgyist wine I ever bought when someone fished out a bottle of Sassicaia from a cabinet and opened at a function I was hosting for people I didn’t really know. I’ve never purchased such a bottle since but maybe I simply need to use my closet? Good post.

    Reply

  4. the winegetter
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 17:37:48

    I hate when that happens! I am always extra protective when people bring a special bottle, goes straight into secret corners of closets…

    Nice take on the topic.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 19, 2013 @ 17:48:15

      Thanks!!! But shame on me for not putting that wine in the closet to begin with. This was before I started on Twitter or with my blog so I don’t even remember what the wine was. I was so disappointed!

      Reply

  5. Sally
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 02:36:23

    This is so honest – and haven’t we all felt that dilemma with a precious bottle. Love the fact that you stored wine in your bedroom 🙂 Great read.

    Reply

  6. foxress
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 19:53:12

    I think you showed a lot of ‘self-possession’ considering the friend still doesn’t know how disappointed you were that he had opened it. Great interpretation of the theme!

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 18:00:09

      Thanks!!! There is definitely something special about friends. I can go out and buy more wine, but true friends are a little harder to find. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

      Reply

  7. thewineraconteur
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 21:25:52

    I understand this feeling, only two well. I had a wine rack set up for our children to use, if they had company over and they wanted wine. One day one of our sons decided to venture into the wine cellar and take a bottle not from his designated area. When I came home and saw that a certain bottle was consumed that I had looked forward to, I was upset and asked him, if his friend’s tastes were so refined that he had to serve them a bottle of Opus One. He sheepishly said that they did not know the difference. The next day he got the shock of his life when he replaced the used bottle and bought an extra one as well for me. I am not sure if he has drank wine since,

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Let 15 wine writers entertain you: VOTE NOW – MWWC3 | My Custard Pie
  9. Trackback: DEPOSSESSED DRINK: WINE ON LOAN #MWWC3 | WAYWARD WINE
  10. kstienemeier
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 04:01:32

    Hate when that happens! I have that problem with foods I make and have to hide in the fridge or mark with “do not eat” or it is vacuum gulped by my 16 year old son! Sympathies.

    Reply

  11. the drunken cyclist
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 11:42:55

    Yes, I have been around this block as well! It eas heart breaking to hear that you did not even get a sniff of the wine! Great interpretation of the theme (and I would never dream of taking a bottle out of your closet, but I sure would like to look around!).

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 26, 2013 @ 12:49:42

      Unfortunately this as before I started alter ego, Red Wine Diva, so I didn’t make any notes or take any pictures. I would still research the wine today if I had the info. #possessed 🙂

      Reply

  12. Trackback: And the winner of the Monthly Wine Writing Challenge is… | My Custard Pie
  13. Trackback: Monthly Wine Writing Challenge #6 (#MWWC6)—Mystery | the drunken cyclist
  14. mwwcblog
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 14:34:20

    Reblogged this on mwwcblog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
