Wine Bar Uodate – 9-16-2013

What a difference a week makes!  Actually, I got the news last Thursday (Hubby’s birthday, September 12) that the SBA had approved our loan.  I knew there was no reason to not get the approval, but seriously, this has been dragging out for six months.  So finally it has happened.  And I am excited – thrilled actually.  One would think that I have now jumped through all the bureaucratic hoops they could throw at me but no, they have pulled out a few new ones, like just now ordering copies of my tax return transcripts from the IRS.  Apparently they can’t use the copies I have.  My only question is:  “Why didn’t they order these a month ago instead of waiting until now?”  I can’t blame this on anyone but the bank.

I also met with the contractor today and signed the final quote sheet and paid for all the permits.  We now have a business license, a building permit and have paid our retail impact fees to the city of Bluffton.

The bank hasn’t given me a date for closing on the loan, but I am really hoping this happens by the end of the month so that we can start construction the first week in October.  This is like giving birth – I will have been at this 9 months by the time we get the build-out completed.

amanda-cartoon-pregnant

Please check us out on Facebook and give us a “Thumb’s Up.”  We are planning a special grand opening party just for Facebook followers and I would love to see you there.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DrinkWhatYouLike
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 22:35:22

    Congrats on the loan approval. A long and winding road, eh. All the best!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 23:42:33

    Yay! So happy for you!

    Reply

  3. talkavino
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 23:59:27

    Congrats!

    Reply

  4. Amber Day Hicks
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 07:21:39

    Congrats!!!

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Sep 17, 2013 @ 08:20:19

      Thanks, Amber – it has been quite the process. If I were still in Winston, the bar would have already been up and running but this is going to be fun! Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

  5. Nik Snacks (@NikSnacks)
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 09:21:59

    Congratulations, Jean! I’m excited for YOU!

    Reply

  6. the winegetter
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 21:37:03

    Woohoo!!! Let’s get this baby going!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
