Wine Bar Update – 9-9-2013

It is really hard to believe it has been six weeks since I updated everyone on the status of Latitude Wine Bar.  It continues to be the SLOWEST moving project I have ever been involved in.

On a brighter note, we have sold our house in Winston Salem, NC.  It was on the market for 4 months which appears to be a fairly quick sale.  As of today, we have furniture sitting in two different storage units, at my daughter’s house and in a temporary living arrangement my husband has been forced into as we wait for all the pieces to fall into place for the wine bar.

We have also entered into a contract to buy a house in Bluffton.  It is a really cute little house (to better define little, the new house is literally half the size of the old house).  We have sold some furniture, had a huge yard sale and donated numerous items to charity.  We know that we will have to sell even more furniture once we get into the new house and determine exactly what we need.

These are two huge steps out of our laundry list of things we are trying to do.  It is a load off my mind and has allowed me to become focused once again on the wine bar, blogging and social media.  I haven’t lost focus on the wine bar, but packing, moving and going back and forth between South and North Carolina has pulled me away from blogging and social media.  (It is good to be back!)

Now back to the wine bar!  About three weeks ago, I received a phone call from my contractor.  They had been getting quotes in from sub-contractors and they were way over budget.  The cost of the build-out for he wine bar actually went up by 45% – yes, you read that right!  Not 5 or 10%, but a full 45%.  I was in shock – that was a lot of money.  I told them I just couldn’t do it, I was going to pull the plug.  Stunned silence on the other end of the phone!  After several seconds, a very subdued voice ask me to give them a chance to get more quotes in and to work out some other issues related to the cost of the build-out.  It took them until this past weekend to get me the revised quote.  It is still 15% above the original estimate, but is doable.  I am going to let go of some other items I wanted – such as the dishwasher (glasses will now be done by hand, at least in the beginning) and the awning over the windows will wait until next Spring.

Then we have the Small Business Loan – OMG!!!  This is one of those things that should have been approved in 7-10 business days; but no, the SBA was behind so it was going to take 30 days.  And they took the full 30 days, but then all they came back with was a request for more info.  I have been supplying more info for the last two weeks.  Hopefully today wrapped up all of their requests.  It is definitely a balancing act!

A_Man_Balancing_a_Dollar_Sign_on_His_Nose_and_Walking_a_Tightrope_Royalty_Free_Clipart_Picture_110430-174782-949053

I have met a couple of distributors and have enjoyed some really good wine tastings.  The business plan is solid.  And I promise there will be a special post put up the day they actually start construction (you may not be able to stand me!)!!!

Cheers!!!

Follow us on Facebook:  www.facebook.com/LatitudeWineBar

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wineno
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 08:13:34

    Sounds like you have plenty of reasons to drink. Hang in there. We are all pulling for you. Can’t wait for the doors to open and raise a glass with you.

    Reply

  2. the winegetter
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 16:35:52

    Wow, that is a lot to handle at the same time. I am impressed!! It will all fall into place, I am sure…

    Although I am a bit worried by the lack of a dishwasher, that can very easily become quite the problem. Just sayin’, but I guess you had to make your cuts.

    The 45% was shocking indeed. Good you got them down to 15%. Still a lot, but boy, that is way better…and again, let me know if you want some input on Riesling. Happy to help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
