The Stigma of Boxed Wine

What is it about boxed wine that turns the majority of wine enthusiasts off?  After all, it is still wine!  All wine is basically made the same, right?  You pick the grapes, run them through a machine to remove the stems and then crush them.  Here is where the winemaker steps in and works his or her magic, but the basics are the same.  Obviously the end result is where the winemaker shines.  However, it doesn’t seem to matter how much skill and finesse is used to make the wine, the end-user judges the wine based on how it is presented on the shelf, from the shape of the bottle to the foil around the top to the label.  The box will never be able to create the desire the bottle does even though boxed wines are winning medals in wine competition and competing toe-to-toe with their bottled counterparts.

Let’s use Red Truck wines as an example.  I have bought this wine in both the bottle and in the little 3 liter mini barrel.  I can’t tell the difference in the wine.  After all, they wine is made and then bottled or put into the plastic liner that fits into the mini barrel; however, my friend snarled her nose at the wine from the mini barrel while she enjoyed the wine from the bottle.

So how does the wine industry overcome this stigma?  Is it really any different than the bad rap screw caps (which are mainstream now) used to get?  Some of the larger wineries have started distributing wine in 10 liter barrels to restaurants.  These barrels are a great alternative to bottles and much better on the environment.  (For more info on wine distributed in barrels or kegs, please visit these wineries:  Saintsbury, Childress Vineyards, and DeLoach Vineyards– just to name a few.)

For smaller wineries, the standard box is still the best alternative to the bottle.  Please keep in mind that you can get some quality wines in an environmentally friendly box.  Let’s spruce it up a bit though with Boxxle.

Boxxel 2

Boxxel 3

Boxxle is a great new product on the market that holds the bladder of wine from the box.  Simply pop the top of the Boxxle open, press the plate down with your fist until it pops into place and insert the bladder of wine so that the spigot is properly aligned for dispensing wine from the Boxxle.  The Boxxle is attractive.  It looks like any regular small appliance you would keep on your countertop.  Your wine is always at your fingertips.  If you prefer your wine at a slightly cooler temperature than your typical kitchen, simply set the filled Boxxle in the refrigerator 30 minutes for red and an hour for whites then proceed to serve and enjoy.

And since the wine hasn’t been disturbed, it will last as long as any typical boxed wine – 4-6 weeks.  As boxed wines become more and more popular, this is THE wine accessory to have!

Now is your chance to own your own Boxxle.  I will be giving this one away to one lucky person.  There are a few different ways to enter:

  • Share this post on Facebook mentioning “Red Wine Diva” to make sure I see that you have shared this – you can either share it directly from here or from my link on Facebook.
  • Tweet this post mentioning @RedWineDiva so that I can track the your entry.
  • Or “LIKE” Latitude Wine Bar on Facebook AND share this post from that Facebook page.

The drawing will be Friday evening around 8pm EST.  The winner will be announced on all of the social media outlets mentioned above.  The Boxxle will be shipped Saturday provided I receive your shipping information timely.

Boxxle was a sample furnished to me for review purposes.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cliff
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 16:31:49

    The box wasn’t the issue. For a long time the wine in the box was predictably soft and sweet. Thankfully that is changing, but that the stigma remains.

    Reply

  2. vinoinlove
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 20:40:34

    The problem with boxed wine is that not all wine is the same. Most of the time the grapes used for boxed wine are of low quality. The healthy grapes are almost always used for quality wine which is then bottled and not boxed.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 25, 2013 @ 08:42:04

      There really isn’t a lot of boxed wine available here so I didn’t realize that. I appreciate the environmental factor of boxed wine (or the larger kegs) but would hate to give up bottles – I think they bring romance to the wine. Thanks for dropping by.

      Reply

  3. Kim
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 21:51:53

    I was embarrassed to admit that I enjoy boxed wine once in awhile… But it’s better for my wallet and better for the environment, so I got over my fears and can purchase boxed wine without shame now! I’ve never heard of Boxxle, but it sounds so fun and useful. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 25, 2013 @ 08:32:56

      It really is sleek looking and blends right in with your other appliances. My biggest concern when I first tried it was that I had bought white wine and didn’t want it at room temperature. Red wine at room temperature is great from the Boxxle. I like the environmental factor, but I would really hate to see bottles go away completely. I think they add to the romance of wine.

      Reply

  4. talkavino
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 21:18:09

    Looks like Boxxle is an interesting wine accessory! I don’t think we need to worry – don’t think boxed wine will outdo the bottles. I think the quality is improving (I had some wines like BotaBox which are quite drinkable). I think Boxed wines have their place – parties, outings – but for me to drink it casually it becomes a bit boring… After all, 3L is a lot of wine…

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 25, 2013 @ 21:27:13

      I completely agree! I bought Black Box Chardonnay but as soon as I got home, I was at a loss on how to keep the wine chilled so I ended up taking it to a “Girl’s Night Out” at a neighbor’s house. The box suggested the wine would be fine on the counter without being chilled, but I have to have my wines at the right temperature. But I actually love the romance of the bottle and have no desire to go to boxed wine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,080 hits
