Wine Bar Update 7-22

I know it has been a couple of weeks since I posted any updates about Latitude Wine Bar.  Apparently it has something to do with my organizational skills.    I like to think I can multitask, but the reality is that I can’t.  I get sidetracked easily and completely lose track of what I was doing to begin with.  However, the last couple of weeks have been full of wine bar stuff!

The bank finally approved my loan for the wine bar and as a result, they have pushed everything up to the Small Business Administration.  Fingers crossed – we should hear back from within the next 7-10 business days.  Wish us luck!  🙂

I have been working closely with the architect.  We have the basic plans drawn up, but we are still tweaking some of the details.  I have picked out the lights, the color for the bathrooms and the flooring.  However, I am having trouble finding the “process” and/or product to create the walls and the look I am going for in the bar.  I am searching desperately for a product that will give Latitude the look of a copper patina.  I know that years ago Genevieve Gorder did this on a wall on “Trading Spaces.”  I have searched everything I can think of to find the products I need for the walls to get this look but I can’t find what I need.  I desperately need some input – PLEASE!!!

I have finally found the perfect bar stools though.  These are killer!!!  They are not reclaimed and don’t have the appearance of being repurposed, but they just fit.  They are one of those items that once I saw them, I just knew.  They are actually fairly modern.  What do you think?

ATFUVF235a

My vision for the bar is for most everything to have the look of having been repurposed and/or reclaimed with a couple of ultra modern pieces inserted to create interest.

More wine tastings tomorrow with the distributor – Life is good.

Please like us on Facebook to be part of the guest list for your special grand opening of Latitude Wine Bar.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cliff
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 22:26:29

    Jean, check you link. Clicking on the picture of the chair takes me to the wrong Facebook page. I’m getting Latitude Wine, a wine store in Leeds, England.

    Reply

  2. Susie Campbell
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 22:38:41

    My friend worked really hard to put a Venetian plaster finish in several rooms in her house. It’s beautiful! Best wishes with the Small Business assoc.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 23, 2013 @ 08:18:25

      I could definitely do the patina copper with a faux finish process, but really thought I could find something less labor intensive. My banker told us that the SBA approves 95% of the loan request that make it thru bank scrutiny first and get pushed up. Fingers crossed! (Hope you are doing well!)

      Reply

  3. triadfoodies
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 22:41:38

    Have you ever seen or been to 5 Walnut Wine Bar in Asheville? Awesome place. If you need ideas 😉

    Reply

  4. wineno
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 09:19:40

    Hi Jean, have you checked this site out for ideas? http://www.houzz.com/copper-faux-finish
    And this site may have some options for easy installation but depending on how much area you need to cover might be expensive. http://www.colorcopper.com/

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 23, 2013 @ 10:26:37

      Will definitely look into both – I have already joined Houzz but apparently wasn’t searching the right phrase. Thanks!!! Hope you and April are both doing great!

      Reply

  5. talkavino
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 16:14:34

    Chair looks great! As far as copper patina goes, on the recent episode of Restaurant Impossible (I believe it was about restaurant called Edibles which was renamed into Hurley’s American Grille), they used the special material on the wall which gave it that copper patina look (if I understand correctly what you are looking for). See if you can find this episode – that might give you an idea.

    Good luck with SBA!

    Reply

  6. wineandhistory
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 23:37:57

    Love the stools! Nice to hear that things are moving along. Hope you find what you are looking for with the wall treatment.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jul 24, 2013 @ 09:11:56

      Thanks for dropping by. I am recording a segment of Restaurant Impossible tonight where they are featuring a wall like what I am wanting to do. Hopefully it will show the materials I need to create the right look.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,079 hits
