Trader Joe’s Wine Haul – Part 5

Apparently it is going to be a Rosé kind of Summer!  I have already read several blog posts about various Rosés and I am certain the trend will continue – as a matter if fact, here’s another one.

I absolutely love a good Rosé so I purchased two when I bought my wine haul at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago.  The first one wasn’t great but would do in a pinch.  But this one, I would buy again (and again).  It is Josefina from Paso Robles, California, bottled at San Antonio Winery.  It is a Syrah which is a grape that thrives in the warm days and cool nights of Paso Robles.

picture054

As I have been old that Trader Joe’s has numerous wines bottled just for sale at their stores, I am making the assumption that this is one of them.  I couldn’t find any mention of it on the San Antonio Winery website and there was no website for Josefina.

This wine pours watermelon pink with hints of pink grapefruit on the nose.  On the palate you get a touch of citrus and red fruits such as strawberry and raspberry.  It is crisp, dry and refreshing, the kind of wine that will take the edge off a hot summer day as you lounge by the pool or sit outside to enjoy a sunset with colors that match what’s in your glass.

So far, I have come to the conclusion that you can get some great wines at Trader Joe’s for the money.  It doesn’t matter where you buy your wine, at some point you will buy one that doesn’t suit your palate.  Those are the ones you remember and you never buy again.  And sometimes you find a real steal as in this Josefina Rose’.

Varietal:  Syrah          Alcohol:  12.5%          Price:  $5.99

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wineandhistory
    May 30, 2013 @ 00:56:10

    I’ll have to see if I can find this one at our Trader Joe’s! I need a good everyday Rose!

    Reply

  2. the winegetter
    May 30, 2013 @ 23:00:33

    Great! Will have to add that to the growing list…

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Trader Joe’s Wine Haul – Part 7 | Red Wine Diva

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
