Trader Joe’s Wine Haul – Part 4

This is my third post about the wine I picked up at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago.  This one is a straight Trader Joe’s label.  Apparently they have a “reserve” series wine and a “Petit Reserve” line of wines under their name.  I may have to visit the store again as I didn’t know the story behind their wines and I am thinking I have probably missed some really good ones.  On my next visit, I need to take my time and really study the labels and what I am buying.  I would hate to miss out on a bargain – and no, I am not talking about “2-buck Chuck!”

Trader Joe’s Petit Reserve 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon is a deep inky garnet in the glass.  Give it a good swirl and you can see legs form slowly on the side of the glass and trickle back down into the wine indicating good structure.  Flavors of blackberry and vanilla follow notes of strawberry and jam.  The wine is very jammy and reminds me of a zinfandel.  With a cost friendly price point of only $7.99, this is a great cab to keep on hand.  I would definitely buy it again, and if you buy it by the case, no worries.  This wine will easily keep for a couple of years.   Make this your house cab.

picture030

Varietal:  Cabernet Sauvignon          Alcohol:  13.7%          Price:  $7.99

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    May 16, 2013 @ 22:32:18

    We tried their Reserve Merlot and Cab Sav last year. They were so, so. I guess alright for the price, but not very impressive. But then again, there are so many diverse wines there…

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Trader Joe’s Wine Haul – Part 7 | Red Wine Diva

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
