Terra Andina – A Refreshing Sauvignon Blanc

This wine was a media sample from Palm Bay International.

WOW – now this is a first!  I am actually drinking and reviewing (enjoying) a Sauvignon Blanc.  I accept this as proof that I have truly come full circle and that my palate has evolved to the point that I can appreciate and enjoy wines whether red or white.  For those of you that have followed me on Twitter and have kept up with my blog, you know that I used to only drink red wine – hence the name. “Red Wine Diva.”  But today I am happy to say that I truly enjoy a variety of white wines as well.

Terra Andina

Even though I still back away from any wine that has too much citrus in it for my palate, I am finding that after a few sips, the citrus mellows out and the wine is very approachable.  On the first sip of this 2012 Terra Andina Sauvignon Blanc from Chili, I thought the citrus might be too much, but the lingering finish was very pleasant and led me to take another sip.  I have heard that it takes three sips of a wine to truly be able to define the flavor profile or the specific nuances of a wine and to know if you will like it.  Well, this Sauvignon Blanc just got better with every sip.  I was thrilled to actually enjoy a Sauvignon Blanc!!!

I found floral notes that danced on the palate switching from sweet to citrusy in a rhythm that made the wine both refreshing and desirable.  It is the kind of wine that you can just sip on or you can pair it with your favorite spicy food.  After dinner, I was craving chocolate and typically, white wines do not pair well with chocolate.  However, as luck would have it, the chocolate I just happened to have at home was perfect with this Sauvignon Blanc – Chili Chocolate from Lindt!!!

Chili Chocolate

This is a pairing that was meant to be – spicy chili chocolate and a smooth refreshing Sauvignon Blanc.  The wine took the spicy bite out of the chocolate.  The chocolate made the wine even more refreshing.  The combination of the two together, made both smoother.  I will definitely try this chocolate with other white wines in the future.

Varietal:  Sauvignon Blanc          Alcohol:  13.5%          Price:  $10.00 +/-

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. talkavino
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 16:00:52

    very interesting – I would never think of Chili dark chocolate with Sauvignon Blanc – will have to try that!

    Reply

  2. Carmela Rosario
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 21:45:02

    When deciding to celebrate white chocolate with wine the number one rule is: the wine should be as sweet, if not sweeter, than the chocolate. Otherwise, you’ll end up with a bitter or sour taste. Also, pair lighter more eloquent chocolates, with sweeter light wines. Uniformly, the stronger the chocolate, the more full-bodied the wine should be.

    Reply

  3. winesleuth
    May 03, 2013 @ 03:21:39

    Chile makes some great s. blanc. If you get a chance, try some of their other white varieties, esp. the chards, nicely balanced with not too much acidity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,080 hits
