Kickin’ It Into Gear

For those of you that read my blog regularly, you know that I have a section called, “America Dreaming.”  I started this segment of my blog to shine a light on people who have stretched beyond their comfort zone to live out their dreams.  My criterion was simple, the business had to be wine-related and had to have been started during the economic down turn.  All of the people I interviewed were happy.  They were doing what they wanted to do.  They had their piece of the pie.

compass

So I have decided that it is time to chase my own dream, to have my piece of the pie.  Through my writing I have been living vicariously through others.  Now it’s my turn.  I created a Kickstarter campagne to help raise money for the build out.  We found this great space in Bluffton, SC (just outside of Hilton Head) that we fell in love with and feel certain that it is the perfect location for the bar.  The bar will be in Old Town Bluffton, a historic district that has been revitalized and is alive with people and activities.  The bar is on Calhoun Street in the Promenade area.  People park at one end of the Promenade and walk to all the quaint little art shops, restaurants and bars.  If you walk to the end of Calhoun Street, you actually end up at the May River which dumps into the ocean.  The setting and the atmosphere of the whole area lends itself to fun and community – to meeting new friends, to living the American Dream.

sign

Like us on Facebook

I just sold my Mercedes last night to free up some cash for the build-out of the wine bar.  I am a little sad this morning thinking about letting the car go but I am trying to keep my eye on the prize – Latitude Wine Bar.

We have two weeks left on our Kickstarter campagne.  Please check it out – give us “kick” to keep us moving in the right direction.   Help me achieve the American Dream and have your name posted on the “wall of fame” at Latitude Wine Bar.  I have decided to have dedicated space for everyone who pledges to the campagne.

Thank you all for being part of the dream!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:23:02

    So excited for you!!!

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:34:49

      Thanks – we are VERY excited too. But man, I hated to let that car go!!! It was a beauty! The sacrfices we make, right? 🙂

      Reply

      • the winegetter
        Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:40:52

        Yup, but it will all pay off…:) I have never been attached to a car (we still don’t own one) so I can only imagine what it must have felt like.

      • Red Wine Diva
        Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:44:36

        You don’t own a car??? How do you get around? I drive 28 miles one way to work. Hubby drives 15 miles and we think that is close. Living out in the country, we don’t have any other means of transportation.

      • the winegetter
        Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:48:27

        Well, first of all as a European having lived in European cities there is no real need: public transportation, good railway systems.

        Now we live in a small college town with a functioning public transportation system (I realize how rare that is!). We have grocery stores and a pharmacy on the block, so there really is no need. For bigger purchases friends take us along when they go. Also, I work from home, so that is fine. I could not live out in the country, that would not work for me.

        That said, we will get a car this year just because it will enable us to explore the state more and for the added convenience of grocery shopping etc. I just don’t like cars very much, and the cost of sustaining one has always been a deterrent.

  2. Tim Wallace
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 10:39:21

    Keep at it Red Wine Diva…You’ve always had that optimistic spirit and it’s your time for sure. Hell I’d sell everything at this point to be in the location you just described. I mean how many times in our lives do we get to open a wine bar…in a hipster town…on the coast!…Best of luck to you and Bill. See you on the Promenade!

    Tim

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 11:14:30

      We are definitely selling everything. the house is next. Can’t wait for you to come hang out with us! Just think, you will have a vacation destination anytime you want! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Susie Campbell
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:43:33

    Best wishes, Jeanniebelle! If we get to that area, we will certainly make a call on you.

    Reply

  4. wineno
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 07:06:28

    You are a true inspiration, except no obstetrical and it will happen.. We are rooting for you..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
