The Evolving Palate

You know how when you are reading or watching a good mystery, the plot thickens to keep you in suspense.  I think that is what wine does.  It is a mystery and your palate evolves constantly, sometimes keeping even you in suspense.  How lucky are we that we will never tire of wine as there is so much variety out there and at some point in our (wine) lives we will have a desire and an opportunity to try new and exotic wines?  I love it!!!

We’ve been over this before, I am called “Red Wine Diva” for a reason.  When I created this as my Twitter handle (I didn’t have a blog at that point and hadn’t even thought about branding), I didn’t drink white wine unless someone just forced me – not even Chardonnay.  Today I will try any white wine you put in front of me.  Actually, if I am having a bad day, I can count on a white wine to sooth my soul, to help me relax and make things better.  What a strange twist in this wine plot!

Stock photo from Kunde Estate

Stock photo from Kunde Estate

Kunde Estate has been my wine of choice this week.  I actually belong to their wine club so I always have some of their wines on hand and typically, the white wines they have sent in my wine club shipment tend to accumulate; but this week I have drunk three Kunde whites in a row.  I started out earlier in the week with their Sauvignon Blanc Magnolia Lane.  When I opened it, I anticipated finding that bitter taste that has always kept me from drinking Sauvignon Blanc, but this wine was delicate, almost sweet, but not too sweet.  A perfect sipping wine, I had chosen it because hubby had prepared a chicken and pasta dish for dinner and I wanted something light to pair with it.  I was absolutely taken aback by how good this wine was.  Not only was it a white wine, it was a Sauvignon Blanc (which by the way, I have never written about)!  I typically find notes of strong yellow grapefruit in any Sauvignon Blanc but in this one I found the sweet pink grapefruit (which I love) as well as lemon and orange zest.  The wine was heavenly.  Trust me, I dug through my wine closet but couldn’t find another bottle!

Well this Sauvignon Blanc had been so good, that I decided to opt for another white, still staying with wines from Kunde Estate.  The next wine up was their 2011 Chardonnay from CS Ridge Vineyards.  This was my style of Chardonnay – buttery, oaky, but with enough fruit on the palate to make it a true delicacy.

Kunde Estate Chardonnay

Kunde Estate Chardonnay

So today, I decided to continue down this path.  I opened another Sauvignon Blanc.  This one is from Vineyard Block 4SB20 and is just as pleasant as the Magnolia Lane.  Once again, I was a little leary about the first sip still expecting that bitter yellow grapefruit taste, but no!!!  It was slightly dryer than the Magnolia Lane, but still the perfect sipping wine.  You can drink this one alone. You don’t need a pairing, just a “wine kind of day” to enjoy this Sauvignon Blanc.

Kunde Estate Sauvignon Blanc

Kunde Estate Sauvignon Blanc

So I am wrapping up a week of white wines and my appreciation of them has deepened.  But the mystery continues – where will my palate take me next?

I encourage each of you to try new and different wines with an open mind.  Evolve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
