When to Decant???

Do you decant wine?  When do you decant?  What wines do you decant?  I don’t ever decant!  Should I feel embarrassed that I don’t know when to decant or that I don’t instinctively think to decant?  Well, I am and I’m not.  I never claimed to be a wine pro; but I do feel like I have been at this long enough to know how to read a wine label and pick up on things that indicate I should decant.  OK!  I’m getting there!!!  It has finally hit me that I need to look at the age of a wine and the type of wine before I open the bottle.  I need to make a decision – do I decant?

I have been reading another blog from Winegetter.  He frequently decants.  He usually decants on younger wines.  Well, the problem is, the age of a wine depends on the style of the wine and where the wine is made.  I can’t just look at a label and automatically know that the wine is too young and therefore needs to be decanted.  However, you can always decant to be on the safe side and decant.

Several wines I have received lately are either 2011 or 2012 vintages.  Starting now, tonight, I am decanting all of them.  Decanting will never hurt the flavors of the wine.  It can only prove to enhance the flavor.

2013-02-21 18.48.24

I opened this wine last night.  It is Back Door Zinfandel from Naked Wines.  I have had a few wines from Naked and typically think they are great.  But when I opened this wine last night, it was way too jammy, almost sweet.  I only drank one glass and since I was through with dinner, I wasn’t pairing it with anything but rather drinking it as a sipping wine.  I didn’t care for it at all.  I sealed it up and stored it overnight in my wine cooler.  Then on my way home tonight from work, I decided to try a glass and if I didn’t like it, I was going to dump the rest of the bottle.  But it was so much better!  Had I decanted last night, I might have had this same experience with this wine then, but I never even thought to decant.

Why am I so adverse to decanting? Who knows, but not any more!  I will still taste the wine and if I love it, will serve it straight from the bottle; but if I don’t absolutely LOVE it, I am decanting especially if the wine is really young!

For more info on “How to Decant Wine” by Why Wine Blog.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 20:52:16

    Thanks for the shout out and I am so glad you will give it a try. I really think there are no real rules regarding wine, and whatever helps, helps. I love how we bloggers are inspiring each other.

    Reply

  2. Red Wine Diva
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 21:22:38

    🙂 You inspire me!!! Decant and enjoy!

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 12:48:54

    I decant accidentally much more often that I decant intentionally. I have a habit of opening a bottle, taking an hour or more to drink the first glass, and then pouring another glass. Just by sitting on the counter for awhile, a lot of wines change! And if I don’t love my first sip, I have no problem pouring wine through an aerator for instant gratification.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Feb 22, 2013 @ 16:48:01

      I aerate more often than I decant. But typically it with one of the Haley’s Corkers instead of my good aerator. I really need to be more diligent with my wines so I can get that “instant gratification” as well! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
