Franciscan Estate 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon

When you are shopping for wine, all you have to go by is the label or the reviews.  I much prefer reviews over the label because I like to see a variety of perspectives on a wine as compared to what the winemaker has to say.  The problem with this is that I don’t know what I am buying until I get to the store and then I don’t want to search and read reviews while I am standing there trying to decide on what to buy.  So I read the labels and any employee notes that might be attached to the display (another good source of information).

When I receive a wine as a media sample, however, I have the luxury of reading other reviews while I sip my wine or even as I prepare a blog post.

For this Franciscan Estate 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon there were several other reviews available and I enjoyed reading what they each had written.  The general consensus is that this wine has good body and is full of flavor ranging from vanilla to cherry & plum with hints of tobacco and cocoa.  (By the way, these are some of the descriptors I look for when purchasing a wine.)  I found all of these elements in this wine as well as anise.  The silky texture and the lingering finish put this wine on my “buy list.”  With this Franciscan Estate Cab, you get the taste Napa Valley is famous for without the price tag.

2013-02-11 20.00.05

This wine was a media sample from Franciscan Estate.

Varietal:  85% Cabernet Sauvignon, 11% Merlot, 3% Syrah, 1% Malbec          Alcohol:  13.5%          Price:  $28

For more reviews about Franciscan Estate 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon:

The Good Wine Guru

The Reverse Wine Snob

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
