Should I Dump This Wine?

Let’s be honest here, wine is not cheap. So what are you supposed to do if you really don’t like the wine you just opened? You paid good money for it. Granted we all have our own definition of what is expensive or what is cheap, but irregardless, when you buy anything, you expect to like it and to enjoy it. So again, what do you do when you really don’t like the wine you just opened?

Is the wine bad? Is it just me? I know when I don’t like a wine, but I am never sure why. Mostly I use hubby as a guinea pig.  We don’t have the same taste in wine so if he thinks it is bad, then I feel fairly confident that it isn’t just me.  So goes the wine I was going to write about today.  It is a bottle that I brought home from the Wine Blogger’s Conference in Portland, Oregon in 2012.

On the first sip, I got this really sour taste at the end.  I thought it was just me.  So I tried to aerate it to see if it got any better.  It didn’t.  I  tried pairing it with some great bread sticks I picked up at an Italian Market here in Winston – didn’t help. The wine actually tasted like it had been open for 4-5 days and not stored or sealed properly since.  So in comes hubby.  (He is just so agreeable!)  I told him I needed him to try this wine because I didn’t care for it but couldn’t decide if it was me or the wine.  He graciously agreed but only wanted a tasting, not a full glass.  I poured him a small glass.  One sip and he handed it back.  He thought it was vinegar, which actually made me feel better – it WAS the wine and not me.

Yes, we dumped this wine!

As you have gathered, this wine was a media sample I brought home from the conference.  It didn’t cost me anything,  but I still hate to throw wine out.  It goes against everything I believe in.  And it is even worse when I pay for it.  I had a friend tell me one time that she just powered through it when she tasted a wine she didn’t like.  Unfortunately, I can’t do that.

It is your choice whether you dump or drink, but if you don’t like it (it doesn’t matter if the wine is bad or if you simply don’t care for it), dump it.  There are so many great wines out there that we will never have the chance to enjoy, why waste your time on something that doesn’t measure up.  If you think it really is just you, take it to a friend.  Maybe they will enjoy it – but seal and store it properly and take it the very next day.

red wine

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 17:04:39

    I have the same method with my wife. We both have quite different palates, so she is my go to test person. I use red wine that I find undrinkable for cooking. I find that even the vinegary stuff mellows out when I dump it in tomato sauce. And I have no problem leaving it standing on the kitchen sill until I need it, even weeks…I wouldn’t make boeuf bourguignon with it, but for pretty much standard recipes that call for wine? I use it.

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 20:49:34

    I never thought about freezing wine for future use – how useful! I’ve had multiple bottles of the same wine from a local winery that have tasted “off” too many times. It’s so disappointing to look forward to a great wine and end up pouring it down the drain.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Trader Joe’s Coastal Merlot 2009 | She Wines Sometimes
  4. Ron Hunt
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 09:27:52

    EVERY chef in the world says that you should not cook with a wine that you would not drink. If not drinkable then why eat it? Freezing bad wine still makes it bad wine. If wine is bad, take it back. If you can not take it back then let the winery know that it was bad. If I am selling bad wine, I want to know. I want to know why it is bad so I can try to correct the problem. Please, do not drink (or cook) bad wine.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Feb 13, 2013 @ 10:05:16

      I have always heard that, Ron – and if a wine is defective (bad) I would dump and not freeze it for later. If it just doesn’t suit my palate, I will cook with it and or freeze it for cooking with later. Thanks so much for reading my blog and for weighing in. Great Advice!!!

      Reply

  5. Donna
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 11:18:48

    If you have this experience with more than one bottle from the same winery, do you inform the winery as a courtesy. Especially if it is a small local winery.

    I’m not looking for a refund, but this could have a huge impact on thier business. But not being very educated with wines/wineries, I wasn’t sure if this was taboo.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Feb 13, 2013 @ 12:54:56

      I think the winery would appreciate knowing that something might be wrong with a batch of wine. It could be bad corks, etc and they would most likely want to pull those off the shelf and at least check a few bottles. Then they can decide whether or not to dump the wine before it sells. Most likely, the winery would offer to replace your bad wine. Thanks so much for reading my blog – your comments and feedback are truly appreciated!!!

      Reply

  6. joeshico
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 11:53:50

    Sounds like many of us use our spouse to confirm some of our wine tastings. I to felt a little uneasy the first few times I had to dump a wine. Now, if the wife says no to finishing the wine or using it in a recipe, it goes down the drain without a second thought.

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:14:51

      I had someone suggest making a vinegarette with left over wine or wines that you personally are not crazy about. I like that suggestion! But, it is also nice to get that second opinion from a spouse! Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

  7. Trackback: Goede wijn is niet goedkoop! | online magazine voor de echte wijnliefhebber

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
