You Had Me at Merlot

We have two phenomenons going on here.  First of all, I am not a fan of Merlot.  Second, I am VERY particular about what wine clubs I join.  I joined the wine club at Kunde Estate a couple   of years ago when visiting the Sonoma area.  Actually, they are the standard by which I judge other wine clubs.  I have been extremely pleased with the wines Kunde offers their wine club members.  I usually accept the wines they preselect for each wine club shipment, but occasionally call them and request specific wines.  One of my criteria for a wine club is that the wines not be readily available to the general public.  So living on the East coast, the Kunde wine club offering is not usually a problem because their wines are not offered at general retail here in North Carolina other than a couple of basics.

With my most recent wine club shipment, I didn’t make any special requests.  I simply accepted the wines that Kunde had preselected for the wine club shipment.  As usual, when the wines arrived I couldn’t wait to see what was in the shipment.  I tore the box open and found their 2009 Merlot.  I was a little disappointed because Merlot has never been a favorite of mine.  I stored in the “wine closet” thinking it would be a good wine to share with friends.  On a whim, I decided to open this 2009 Merlot the other night to pair with spaghetti accompanied with a homemade sauce.  Oh my, my!!!

2013-01-23 18.44.32

On the first sip it was obvious this pairing was meant to be.  According to the winemaker’s notes: “The cool mornings draped with coastal fog create the ideal blanket to keep Merlot at its favorite temperature. The reward is in this wine’s deep garnet color and aromatic nose. Our 2009 Merlot is a versatile wine, complete with bright red fruit and an earthiness that signals this wine is from Sonoma Valley.”

I personally found this wine to have hints of blackberry and subtle cherry, very pleasing to the palate.  Knowing that our palates change especially with the wines we drink, I may have to give Merlot another swirl!

varietal:  Merlot          Alcohol:  13.8%          Price:  $18.00

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the winegetter
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 21:47:23

    I love it when wines surprise me. 🙂

    Reply

    • Red Wine Diva
      Jan 23, 2013 @ 21:52:10

      😉 Thaks for reading and following. What is your favorite wine – I am truly amazed that I have enjoyed this Merlot. It is still not my favorite, but I wold drink it again!

      Reply

      • the winegetter
        Jan 23, 2013 @ 21:54:20

        Well, my heart belongs to German off-dry rieslings. There’s nothing that beats them in my eyes, but Burgundy pinot noirs can be quite the competition…:)

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
