Vinolocity Blanc – Sheldon Wines

This wine was a media sample from Sheldon Wines.

I love trying new wines!  There are only a few things I can think of that bring me more pleasure than sipping a great new wine; so what better way to spend an hour of my Sunday than trying some of Sonoma’s finest.  That’s exactly what I did this past Sunday.  I spent an hour tasting a couple of wines from Sheldon Wines and Krutz Family Cellars along with the great folks at Taste Live .  Along with that tasting was this VERY impressive “2011 Vinolocity Blanc.”

Vinolocity Blanc is a blend of some of my favorite wines – Grenache Blanc (50%), Viognier (25%), and Roussanne (25%).  I was surprised by the tartness of this wine on the first sip, but that’s what Roussanne does.  It is a tart wine used mostly for blending and to add character to other white wines.  I don’t care for it as a stand alone wine, but when blended correctly, it draws you in and creates a wine that you won’t soon forget.  But you will notice that it was only 25% of the Vinolocity Blanc.  The dominant profile of this wine comes from the Grenache Blanc.

I’ve actually only had Grenache Blanc one time before and was very impressed.  (But then, there are a lot of wines I haven’t tried yet, hence my love for trying new wines!)  The Grenache Blanc adds hints of pineapple, while the Viognier added herbaceous notes all of which evened out the tartness of the Roussanne.  I have heard that you have to take at least 3 sips of a wine to truly know if you like it or not – for the full flavor profile to be appreciated, so by the third sip of this wine, I was hooked.  I opted to pair it with pasta in a basil cream sauce and sun-dried tomatoes.

Variety: White Blend (Grenache Blanc, Viognier, and Roussanne)     Alcohol:  13.5%     Price:  $30

As this wine is produced in such small lots, it isn’t sold at retail.  But you are still in luck as they do have a wine club.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: SHELDON WINES VINOLOCITY BLANC 2011 « D' Vine Wine Time

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,080 hits
