Cabernet Day 2012

Cabernet Day – Thursday, August 30, 2012:  I was really excited about #CabernetDay this year – not sure why, but wanted to make sure I stocked up on Cabernet and participated via twitter.  I actually had my days mixed up and thought the 30th was on Wednesday so driving home from work Tuesday, I decided to go through my wines to see if I even had any Cabernet (Sauvignon, Franc, anything).  I truly thought I didn’t have any at home and would have to stop at the store to pick something up.  So the first thing I did when I got home was to see what the wine rack held in store.  Was I surprised – I had a case and a half of Cabernet Sauvignon from various wineries and quite a selection to choose from.  Some were starting to get a little age on them! 

I had gotten away from drinking Cabernet and had been more focused on Zinfandel, Rose’ and a variety of white wines recently.  Cabernet Day was the perfect opportunity to go back and revisit the wine that used to be my passion.  Once again I am reminded of how great this varietal is and why it deserves its own special day.  As I looked at all these great wines in front of me, I got really excited about the prospects and decided to start Cabernet Day a day (or two) early.  I opted to open a 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon Signature Series from Childress Vineyards

Varietal: Cabernet Sauvignon          Alcohol:  13.5%

This is what North Carolina wines are all about!!!  Smooth as silk, plum, black cherry, vanilla and a hint of tobacco – sensory overload!  Unfortunately, I didn’t see this particular wine on their website so I am not sure if you can still get it; but it you ever get a chance to visit Childress Vineyards and Winery, I highly recommend that you do the Signature Tasting so that you can experience the best of what North Carolina has to offer.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
