A Year Later – Petit Verdot, Veritas Winery

This wine was a media sample from Veritas Vineyard and Winery.

What a difference a year makes.  It was just a short year ago that I attended the Wine Blogger’s Conference in Charlottesville, Virginia.  Not only did I have the time of my life, I met some great like-minded people and had the pleasure of tasting some phenomenal wines.  One of those wines was a 2009 Petit Verdot from Veritas Vineyard and Winery.  They actually provided me with two bottles.  One I wrote about as soon as I got it; the other I have held onto for the last year so I could revisit this wine and taste the difference another twelve months in the bottle makes. (The original blog post can be found here:  http://wp.me/py9Ic-1q.)

I was very excited to open this wine!!!  The deep purple hue in the glass and the hint of chocolate on the nose let me know that I was not going to be disappointed.  Following the standard protocol for tasting wine, swirl, sniff, sip, (let linger for just a few seconds) and swallow.  On the palate I got hints of vanilla and cherry wrapped in mocha with a touch of coffee to go along with the lingering finish of this well-balanced wine.  “In Vino Veritas,” the trademark of Veritas Winery rings true once again.

I didn’t see this wine listed on their website when I checked.  I do hope they still carry it.

Varietal: Petit Verdot          Alcohol:  13%            Price: (last year – $29)

I haven’t been back to Virginia to tour any wineries since the 2011 conference.  It is one of those things that we always talk about, but just never seem to find the time to actually do.  I have always heard that if you put something in writing, that it is much more likely to happen.  So I am committing this to writing today – within the next year, I am taking a long weekend and hitting the Virginia Wine Trail.  Stay tuned!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Bishop
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 18:26:42

    Be sure to also visit Mountfair Vineyards. They only make reds and they are fantastic! I love Veritas, Afton Mountain, and Pollok Vineyards as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
