Another Great Riesling

This wine was a media sample from the Finger Lakes Alliance

This must be the week for cleaning out the wine rack.  I had thought I was out of white wine but then remembered that I had a Riesling left over from a virtual wine tasting I participated in last fall.  I had been fortunate enough to receive a shipment of wines from the Finger Lakes Alliance.  Often I end up with nobody to share my wines with for virtual tastings so I choose to only open 2-3 of them and save the others for a later tasting and special blog post.  So goes this post for Billsboro 2010 Riesling.

Having had a really mild winter in the Southeast, we are now experiencing an exceptionally early spring with some exceptionally warm days, the kind of warmth that makes you crave a good chilled white wine.  What better way to quench this craving than with a Riesling from the Finger Lakes wine region.

Pleasantly refreshing, this wine offers up kiwi and a touch of banana then finishes with mango on the back of the palate.  Considered a semi-sweet wine, this is a great wine to finish off the day watching the sun go down.  I would suggest pairing it with spicy foods such as black beans and rice as well.

Varietal: Riesling               Alcohol: 11.5%              Price:  $16.00

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:17:16

    Jean, idk what’s you need from me to do a virtual tasting, but I’m game whenever you want. I’ll actually be joining the “smart” world soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,251 hits
