Biltmore Reserve Chardonnay

This wine was a media sample from Biltmore Estate

“Red Wine Diva”  So what’s in a name – besides part of your identity? 

I like to think that I have come full circle in the world of wine.  Just a few short years ago, I couldn’t even find a white wine that I would drink.  I tried!  I thought the next natural step from “white zinfandel” was to go to Chardonnay but I couldn’t find one that I enjoyed.  I was able to drink some sweet Rieslings, but no Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc and NO Chardonnay.

Then I discovered Century White from Biltmore Estate – lighter wine, semi dry and I loved it.  I actually bought it by the case. 

The next step for me was red wine.  I forgot about whites.  I had been hesitant to try reds because I thought they would be dry and bitter, but was I in for a surprise.  Not having the appreciation for wine that I do today, I don’t remember much about my first red except that it was a Pinot.  I was hooked!  So I went for years without even trying white wine, that is unless someone just insisted that I taste something they were drinking.  I just didn’t get it – how could they drink that stuff!

Then a friend brought a Chenin Blanc to the house one evening and even though she is a red wine person as well, it was way too hot outside to be sipping red wine.  A good chilled white wine really hit the spot but I still didn’t get too adventurous until the following summer – the summer of 2010.  Boy was it hot!!!  Too hot for red wine.  I had no choice.  So I embraced white wine; and you know, it wasn’t half bad.  As a matter of fact, I learned to actually enjoy and appreciate it; and even though I am the Red Wine Diva, I frequently choose to drink white wine – even Chardonnay.   

This Biltmore Reserve Chardonnay was crisp and clean with tropical nuances.  I picked up the refreshing taste of kiwi with a buttery finish.  Yep, the Red Wine Diva is drinking, enjoying and writing about “white wine!”

Varietal: Chardonnay           Price: $14.99

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 50,084 hits
