NC Holiday Wine Project – #7

Oh the weather outside is frightful, 
But the fire is so delightful,
And since we’ve no place to go,
Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!


Don’t you just love snow!?!?!  I do – whether I am out playing in it or inside by the fireplace (which may become a theme of my posts over the next few weeks) just watching through the window, I think snow is beautiful.  In one sense it awakens the inner child in me and in another sense it awakens the romantic in me. 

So the next question is, “What kind of wine do we pair with snow?”  And the answer is, “Anything you like!”

So how about a mulled wine?  Mulled wine is the wine lover’s version of hot spiced tea.  I have found a great recipe on Food Network’s website.  (There are actually several).  I won’t try to tell you which one to use, but regardless of which recipe you try, this is the wine you should use.  Shadow Springs Vineyard has created a special Holiday wine, Merry Mist.  This delightful wine is a lightly oaked Cabernet Sauvignon that has been infused with cranberry and orange.  It has 3.5% residual sugar as well.  In other words, half the recipe is already in the bottle!  You can do something elaborate with this wine or you can simply heat it and stir/serve it with a cinnamon stick.

Varietal: Cabernet Sauvignon (infused with cranberry and orange)

Alcohol: 12.5%

Residual Sugar: 3.5%

Price: $14.00

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn Howard
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 11:23:44

    I love a good, dry, deep red wine to enjoy in front of the fire. My house does not have a fireplace, but my boyfriend’s does. I plan on spending a lot of time in front of it this winter.

    Reply

  2. April Baugher
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 09:39:13

    This is my favorite kind of wine! I can’t wait till my next glass!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: NC Holiday Wine Project – Summary! « Red Wine Diva

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 49,971 hits
